top of page

Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction

July 3, 2023
Winners Announced in the Sixth Annual
Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction

The winners of the Sixth Annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction have been determined. They are Martin Bauman in first place for Hell of a Ride and Chris Harvey-Clark in second place for The Great Canadian Shark Search. Both books will be published by Pottersfield Press in 2024.


Bauman’s top winning entry is a coming-of-age tale of a family's journey through trauma and mental illness, a son's love for his father, and the 7,000-kilometre solo bicycle voyage across Canada that brought it all to the forefront. Originally from Waterloo, Ontario Martin Bauman is a journalist and interviewer, whose work has
appeared in The Globe and Mail, Calgary Herald, Capital Daily, The Coast, and Waterloo Region Record, among other publications.

The second-place winner is a first-hand account of diving research adventures with sharks, torpedo rays, endangered North Atlantic right whales and other charismatic large creatures in Canadian waters as global warming changes the invisible underwater world that surrounds us. Chris Harvey-Clark is a research veterinarian and marine biologist who has documented great white sharks underwater for the first time in Canadian waters. He lives in Herring Cove, Nova Scotia.

Seventh Annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction 

Now Accepting Submissions

For the seventh annual prize, Pottersfield Press is again looking for submissions from writers who can provide a manuscript of 30,000 to 150,000 words in any of the following categories: history, memoir, autobiography, biography, literary journalism, political or social commentary, travel writing or virtually any existing or new category that uses the nonfiction medium to tell a story or put forward an idea.

The First Prize winner will receive a contract for the publication of the winning book along with a $1000 advance on 10% royalty for all sales. The Second Prize winner will also see the publication of the book and an $800 advance on 10% royalties.

Deadline is April 30, 2024 but early submissions are encouraged.

Manuscripts can be submitted electronically as a double-spaced basic Word document to:
(include on the title page your name, address and email address)

Entry fee is $25 (includes HST) and can be paid by Interac Transfer (also to,

Paypal or by cheque made out to:

Pottersfield Press
248 Leslie Road
East Lawrencetown, NS B2Z 1T4

after the manuscript has been submitted by email.

Previous Winners

bottom of page