top of page


May 20, 2022 
Winners Announced for the Fifth Annual Pottersfield
Prize for Creative Nonfiction

The winners of the Fifth Annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction have been determined. They are Jo- Ann Oosterman of Ottawa, Ontario in first place, and Maryanna Gabriel of Salt Spring Island, B.C. in second place.

The top winning entry was Tom’s Story: My 16 Year Friendship with a Homeless Man, a story that gives unique insights into loneliness, addiction, mental illness, childhood trauma and homelessness. It also shows the inner workings of the harm reduction approach to managing addiction, and it shines a bright light on the healing powers of hope, art, friendship and love. Jo-Ann Oosterman is a writer and graphic artist and a graduate of the Humber School for Writers.

The second place winner, On Earth As It Is: Walking The Camino, is the story of one woman’s solo 800- kilometre pilgrimage on the Camino in Spain, the challenges she faces and the obstacles she overcomes. Maryanna Gabriel is an artist and author who works from her studio on Salt Spring Island.

For the sixth annual prize, Pottersfield Press is again looking for submissions from writers who can provide a
manuscript of 30,000 to 150,000 words in any of the following categories: history, memoir, autobiography, biography, literary journalism, political or social commentary, travel writing or virtually any existing or new category that uses the nonfiction medium to tell a story or put forward an idea.

The First Prize winner will receive a contract for the publication of the winning book along with a $1000 advance on 10% royalty for all sales. The Second Prize winner will also see the publication of the book and a $800 advance on 10% royalties.

Deadline is April 30, 2023 but early submissions are encouraged.

Submit your manuscript electronically as a double-spaced basic Word document to: and include on the title page your name, address and email address.
Entry fee is $25 (includes HST) and can be paid by Interac Transfer (also to,
Paypal or by cheque made out to Pottersfield Press mailed to

248 Leslie Road, East Lawrencetown, NS B2Z 1T4, Canada after the manuscript has been submitted by email.

2021 Winners

The winners of the Fourth Annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction have been determined. They are  Jules Torti of Lion’s Head, Ontario in first place, and Beth Ann Knowles of Riverport, Nova Scotia in second place.

The top winning entry was Been There, Ate That: A Candy Coated Childhood by Jules Torti, a memoir about “edible memories that will transport readers back to a time and place that no longer exists but lingers dormant in our taste buds.” Jules is the editor-in-chief of Harrowsmith and writes about “the best things in life: birds, books, burgers, beaches and beer (in no particular order).”

The second place winner, The Kimchi Experiment by Beth Ann Knowles, is “a humorous and charming story of adventure of miscommunication, discovery, frustration, and growth for two Canadian newlyweds as they spend a year teaching in rural South Korea.”

One Strong Girl by S. Lesley Buxton
The Tides of Time by Suzanne Stewart
Green Ghost, Blue Ocean by Jennifer M. Smith
Teaching at the Top of the World.jpg

Previous winners:


First Prize: S. Lesley Buxton for One Strong Girl: Surviving the Unimaginable – A Mother's Memoir

Second Prize: Suzanne Stewart for The Tides of Time: A Nova Scotia Book of Seasons


First Prize: Jennifer M. Smith for Green Ghost, Blue Ocean: No Fixed Address

Second Prize: Odette Barr for Teaching at the Top of the World


First Prize: Emily Taylor Smith for No Thanks, I Want to Walk: Two Months on Foot Around New Brunswick and the Gaspé 

Second Prize: Luc Desroches for Working From Home for a Harmonious Life


First Prize: Jules Torti for Been There, Ate That: A Candy-Coated Childhood.

Second Prize: Beth Ann Knowles for The Kimchi Experiment: Naked Parent Teacher Meetings and Other Exploits of a Canadian in South Korea

bottom of page